AI receptionist

Free AI receptionist: plans, limits and hidden costs

In short

A free AI receptionist is usually a capped plan or a trial. In November 2026, Smith.ai's Free plan covers 25 calls a month, then $3.00 per call. CloudTalk gives 50 free minutes in the first month. Upfirst offers 14 days or 100 calls. At higher volumes, compare overage with paid plans and their included services.

“Free AI receptionist” is a popular search, and several vendors do offer something free. But free means very different things: a permanent plan with a small cap, a trial that ends, or a developer platform where the software is free and every minute is not. This guide sorts them out, with every offer checked on the vendor’s own page on 5 November 2026, and shows the point where a paid plan becomes the cheaper option.

Is there a free AI receptionist?

Yes, but only one kind is free for good. In 2026, free offers fall into 3 groups:

  1. Free plans. Free every month, up to a cap. Smith.ai’s Free plan is the clearest example: 25 calls a month.
  2. Free trials. Full or near-full product for a limited time or volume. IONOS, Upfirst, CloudTalk, Rosie and Tuulip all offer one.
  3. Free-to-start platforms. No subscription, but you pay per minute from the first call. Bland’s Start plan and Vapi work this way.

If you are new to the category, our ai receptionist guide explains what the software does before you compare offers.

Key terms

  • Free plan: a plan that stays free within a monthly limit.
  • Free trial: a full plan for a fixed number of days or calls.
  • Cap: the free limit, in calls or minutes.
  • Overage: the price per call or minute above the cap.
  • Auto-billing: the trial converts to a paid plan unless you cancel. Trials without a card cannot auto-bill.
  • Platform fee: the subscription on developer platforms, separate from per-minute usage.

What do free AI receptionist plans and trials include?

Here is what each free offer actually gives you. Checked on 5 November 2026, prices in USD unless stated.

VendorFree offerLimitAfter the limitCard needed
Smith.ai AI ReceptionistFree plan, permanent25 calls per month$3.00 per extra callNot stated
CloudTalk AI Receptionist14-day trial with 50 free minutes50 minutes, first monthPaid plans from $99 for 200 minutesNo
Bland AI (developers)Start plan, $0 platform fee100 calls per day$0.14 per minute talk time, telephony extraNo
UpfirstTrial14 days or 100 calls, 25 textsStarter $24.95 for 30 callsNo
IONOS AI ReceptionistFree first monthAny plan for 30 daysFlex $39, Flex Pro $69, Unlimited $99Not stated
RosieTrial7 daysProfessional $49 for 250 minutesNot stated

Smith.ai’s Free plan is generous on features. It includes 24/7 answering, recordings, transcripts and summaries, lead qualification, call routing, scheduling through Calendly, native integrations through Zapier and Clio, and call history. It leaves out live phone, email and chat support, dedicated onboarding, custom AI prompting, custom integrations and custom SMS branding.

CloudTalk’s pricing mixes currencies: the comparison table is in EUR and the entry paid tier is quoted at $99 for 200 minutes. Ask which currency applies to your invoice.

What are the hidden costs of a free AI receptionist?

The subscription is free. These are not:

  • Overage on capped plans. On Smith.ai Free, call 26 costs $3.00. At 50 calls a month, the “free” plan costs $75.
  • Per-minute usage on platforms. Bland Start has no fee, but 300 minutes of talk time cost $42 before telephony. Vapi gives $5 of credit, then charges $0.05 per minute plus model and phone costs.
  • Your setup time. Free plans rarely include onboarding. You write the script, test it and fix it.
  • Missing support. When something breaks at 8 pm on a Friday, a free plan has no live support to call.
  • The calls a weak setup loses. A free receptionist that gives wrong answers or fails to transfer costs more than it saves. Our missed call cost calculator puts a value on each lost call.
  • Auto-renewal. Trials that took a card can convert to paid plans. Note the end date.

Who is a free AI receptionist right for?

A free plan or trial fits 3 situations well:

  • Very low volume. A solo consultant with 10 to 20 calls a month can stay inside Smith.ai’s 25-call cap.
  • Testing the idea. You want to hear how callers react to an AI before you commit any budget.
  • Developers prototyping. Bland’s Start plan and Vapi’s $5 credit let you build and test an agent before choosing a platform.

It fits poorly if calls are your main source of new clients, if you need support when something breaks, or if your callers speak several languages and you need each one tested and tuned. In those cases, compare paid plans in our ai virtual receptionist guide, or consider an after hours answering service setup if evenings are the gap.

When is a paid AI receptionist cheaper than a free one?

It depends on the overage rate and the paid plan. Here is the monthly cost at 3 volumes, assuming 2-minute calls. Competitors in USD, VocalReception in EUR excluding VAT, checked on 5 November 2026.

Option20 calls (40 min)50 calls (100 min)150 calls (300 min)
Smith.ai Free / Pro$0 (Free)$75 (Free + 25 × $3.00)$337.50 (Pro + 75 × $2.50)
Upfirst Starter / Premium$24.95$54.95 (Starter + 20 × $1.50)$119.95 (Premium + 60 × $1.00)
IONOS Flex / Flex Pro$39$48.80 (Flex + 20 × $0.49)$88.50 (Flex Pro + 50 × $0.39)
Bland Start (raw minutes only)$5.60 + telephony$14 + telephony$42 + telephony
VocalReception€79€79€79

VocalReception includes 400 billed minutes per month. Each started minute beyond that costs €0.25, subject to a client-set monthly spending cap; SMS costs €0.10 each and none are included. Setup costs €199, credited on invoice 7 after 6 paid months. The first month is paid, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on the €79 plan fee, excluding setup. There is no commitment. Large self-serve bundles can cost less above roughly 500 minutes; compare the done-for-you setup and monthly unanswered-questions report too. These examples assume exact two-minute calls and exclude SMS.

The pattern is clear:

  • Under 25 calls a month, Smith.ai’s Free plan is hard to beat, if you can live without support.
  • From about 37 calls a month, Upfirst Starter costs less than Smith.ai Free plus $3.00 overage, and from about 40 calls, so does IONOS Flex.
  • Bland looks cheapest on paper, but it is a developer tool. Without someone to build the agent, connect a number and maintain it, the low per-minute rate does not help.

For more volumes and vendors, see our ai receptionist pricing guide or enter your own numbers in the pricing simulator.

How do you get the most out of a free trial?

A trial is only useful if you test with real calls. Do this within the first week:

  1. Forward your real line during a few busy hours, not just test calls.
  2. Call it yourself with 10 hard questions: prices, exceptions, a complaint, a request for a human.
  3. Test one transfer at a busy moment, and one after hours.
  4. Read every summary. Would you be able to call back without asking again?
  5. Check the exit. Number porting, data export and what happens to your recordings.

Our phone answering checklist turns these steps into a scored grid, and the ai receptionist comparison tool lines up trial terms side by side. For a full ranking, see the best ai receptionist for small business.

How VocalReception handles this

VocalReception has no free plan. Its service includes done-for-you setup and a monthly report of unanswered questions. Here is what the paid plan includes. The plan costs €79 per month excluding VAT and includes 400 minutes. Additional usage costs €0.25 per started minute, subject to a monthly spending cap you set. SMS costs €0.10 each, with none included. Done-for-you setup costs €199 once, credited on invoice 7 after 6 paid months. The first month is paid, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on its €79 plan fee; setup is excluded. There is no commitment. The team sets up and tests your line to go live in 7 days. Self-serve setup is coming soon, with a waitlist. Each month, an agent reviews transcripts and sends recurring unanswered questions for you to answer and update the FAQ. No audio is kept. Text transcripts are kept in the EU for about one month to produce the monthly unanswered-questions report, then deleted. To judge the service before paying, see a sample call step by step.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a truly free AI receptionist?

Smith.ai has a permanent Free plan with 25 calls a month and core features. Bland's developer Start plan has no platform fee, but every minute costs $0.14. Other offers are trials: IONOS gives a free first month, Upfirst 14 days or 100 calls, and Rosie 7 days.

What happens when I go over a free AI receptionist plan?

On Smith.ai's Free plan, every call above 25 costs $3.00. At 50 calls a month, that is $75, more than several paid entry plans. Check whether the vendor caps your usage or bills overage automatically.

Is there a free AI answering service with no credit card?

Yes, for trials. On 5 November 2026, Upfirst's 14-day trial and CloudTalk's 14-day trial required no card, and Bland's Start plan stated 'no card required'. Without a card, you are not billed automatically when the trial ends.

What do free AI receptionist plans leave out?

Usually support and customisation. Smith.ai's Free plan excludes live support, custom AI prompting, custom integrations, dedicated onboarding and custom SMS branding. Trials often include everything but stop after a few days or a fixed number of calls.

When is a paid plan cheaper than a free one?

It depends on the free plan and usage. At 50 two-minute calls a month, Smith.ai Free costs $75, IONOS Flex costs $48.80 and Upfirst Starter $54.95. VocalReception costs €79 excluding VAT, plus €199 setup credited on invoice 7 after 6 paid months.

Sources

  1. Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing (smith.ai)
  2. CloudTalk AI Receptionist (cloudtalk.io)
  3. Bland AI pricing (bland.ai)
  4. Upfirst pricing (upfirst.ai)
  5. IONOS AI Receptionist pricing (ionos.com)
  6. Rosie pricing (heyrosie.com)

Every call answered. In your caller’s language.

€79/month with 400 minutes included. Set up and tested for you. No commitment, 30-day money-back on the first month’s plan fee, excluding setup.

Get started