AI receptionist

Best AI receptionist for small business: comparison

In short

The best AI receptionist for a small business depends on how your calls are billed. In 2026, entry plans run from $0 (Smith.ai Free, 25 calls) to $99 (My AI Front Desk, 200 minutes). For 150 two-minute calls a month, IONOS, Goodcall, Upfirst and My AI Front Desk cost $88.50 to $124.

There is no best AI receptionist in the abstract. There is the one whose billing unit, volume and contract fit your calls. This page is published by VocalReception, which sells an AI receptionist, so we are biased: every competitor price below was checked on that vendor’s own pricing page on 5 November 2026, and we left out ratings and features we could not verify.

How do you choose an AI receptionist for a small business?

Start with the 7 criteria that change your bill and your callers’ experience the most. Our phone answering checklist turns them into a scored grid.

  1. Billing unit. Vendors charge per minute, per call or per unique customer. The same month of calls can cost twice as much on the wrong unit. Pull your call count and average call length from your phone bill first.
  2. Languages. If your callers speak more than one language, ask which languages are supported and whether the AI detects them on its own. We did not verify language lists for the vendors below. Ask for a test call in each language you need.
  3. Transfer to a human. Check the rules you can set (time of day, caller type, keywords) and what happens when nobody picks up.
  4. Call summaries. Ask for a sample, or see a sample call and its summary in our demo. A useful summary gives name, number, reason, urgency and next step. A vague one means you call back to ask again.
  5. Data location. Ask where recordings and transcripts are stored, for how long, and whether the vendor signs a GDPR data processing agreement. This matters most in the EU.
  6. Contract. Smith.ai and IONOS are month-to-month (Smith.ai asks for 30 days’ notice). Rosie, Upfirst and My AI Front Desk discount annual billing, which lowers the price but locks you in.
  7. Free trial. Test with real calls before you pay. 4 of the competitors below publish a free trial and 1 has a free plan.

If you are new to the category, the ai receptionist guide explains how the technology works before you compare vendors.

Key terms

  • Billing unit: what the vendor counts to bill you: minutes, calls or unique customers.
  • Included volume: the minutes, calls or customers covered by the monthly price.
  • Overage: the price of each unit above the included volume.
  • Unique customer: one caller, counted once per billing period however many times they call (Goodcall’s unit).
  • Rounding increment: the smallest billed slice of a call. RingCentral bills in 30-second increments, rounded up.
  • Free trial vs free plan: a trial ends after a set period. A free plan stays free within its volume limit.

How do the main AI receptionists compare in 2026?

Prices are per month, excluding tax, checked on 5 November 2026 on each vendor’s own pricing page. Competitor prices are in USD. VocalReception’s row is in EUR, excluding VAT. “Not stated” means we found no free trial on the pricing page.

VendorEntry priceIncluded volumeOverageBilling unitFree trialBest fit
RingCentral AI Receptionist$49 standalone ($39 + $30 with RingEX)100 minutes$0.50/minMinute, 30-second increments rounded upNot statedRingEX phone system users
Smith.ai AI Receptionist$0 (Free), $150 (Pro)25 calls, 75 calls$3.00, $2.50 per callCallFree plan (25 calls)Testing at very low volume
Rosie$49250 minutesNot publishedMinute7 daysMany short calls
Upfirst$24.9530 calls$1.50/callCall (under 15 s not billed)14 days or 100 calls, no cardLowest paid entry
My AI Front Desk$99 ($79 yearly)200 minutes$0.25/minMinute7 days, no cardVolume above 200 minutes
IONOS AI Receptionist$39 (Flex)30 calls$0.49/callCallNot statedA flat bill ($99 Unlimited)
Goodcall$79100 unique customers$0.79/customerUnique customerNot statedLong or repeat calls
Dialzara$2960 minutes$0.48/minMinute7 daysGrowing minute volume
VocalReception€79 (+ €199 setup credited on invoice 7 after 6 paid months)400 minutes€0.25 per started minuteMinute30-day money-back on the first month’s €79 only; setup excludedFR/BE businesses with multilingual callers; self-serve coming soon

The ai receptionist comparison tool lets you filter the same vendors by the criteria that matter to you.

What does 150 calls a month cost with each vendor?

Headline prices hide the real bill. Here is one scenario: 150 calls a month, 2 minutes each (300 minutes), every caller different, monthly billing, cheapest published plan for that volume.

VendorCheapest planCalculationMonthly cost (USD)
IONOSFlex Pro$69 + 50 × $0.39$88.50
GoodcallStarter$79 + 50 × $0.79$118.50
UpfirstPremium$59.95 + 60 × $1$119.95
My AI Front DeskMonthly$99 + 100 × $0.25$124.00
DialzaraPro$99 + 80 × $0.45$135.00
RingCentralStandalone$49 + 200 × $0.50$149.00
RosieScale$149, 1,000 minutes included$149.00
Smith.aiPro$150 + 75 × $2.50$337.50

Rosie’s Professional plan covers 250 minutes, but its overage price is not published, so Scale is the cheapest plan with a known price at 300 minutes.

Change one assumption and the order changes. If the same 150 calls last 5 minutes each (750 minutes), IONOS stays at $88.50 because it bills per call, while RingCentral rises to $49 + 650 × $0.50 = $374. If those 150 calls come from 60 repeat customers, Goodcall falls to its $79 Starter price. Our ai receptionist pricing guide runs more volumes, and the pricing simulator takes your own numbers.

Which AI receptionist suits which small business?

These notes are based only on published prices and billing structure, not on call quality, which you should test yourself.

RingCentral AI receptionist. It makes the most sense if you already use RingEX, where it is listed at $39 + $30 per month. Standalone, its $0.50 overage is the highest per-minute rate in the table, and 30-second rounding adds up on many short calls.

Smith.ai AI Receptionist. The free plan (25 calls, then $3.00 per call) is a low-risk way to test. Per-call overage stays high, from $3.00 down to $2.17 on Enterprise ($500 for 300 calls). Smith.ai also sells human receptionist plans, starting at $300 for 30 calls, if you later want people on the phone.

Rosie. Among the minute-based plans in the table, it includes the most minutes per dollar on its larger plans: $149 for 1,000 minutes and $299 for 2,000. Because overage is not published, choose a plan with headroom. Annual billing gives 2 months free.

Upfirst. It has the lowest paid entry at $24.95 for 30 calls, and calls under 15 seconds are not billed, which helps with hang-ups and wrong numbers. Overage falls from $1.50 to $0.70 per call as plans grow. The trial (14 days or 100 calls, no card) is long enough to test with real volume.

My AI Front Desk. One plan, $99 for 200 minutes ($79 billed yearly), with the lowest per-minute overage in the table at $0.25. It suits businesses whose minutes are hard to predict and often exceed the included volume.

IONOS AI Receptionist. The Unlimited plan at $99 has no overage, so the bill never moves. By our arithmetic, Unlimited becomes cheaper than Flex Pro above 176 calls a month ($69 + 77 × $0.39 = $99.03).

Goodcall. It bills per unique customer and does not meter minutes. That favours long calls and clients who call several times a month. At scale, $299 covers 2,000 customers, with overage at $0.15.

Dialzara. Four minute-based plans from $29 (60 minutes) to $349 (1,000 minutes), with overage falling from $0.48 to $0.35 per minute and no setup fees. It suits a business that expects its volume to grow step by step.

Should a small business choose AI at all?

An AI receptionist is cheaper per call than a person, but it is not the only option. Compare it with a human service in our ai receptionist vs virtual receptionist guide, or with call center cover in the ai answering service for small business guide. If your problem is mainly evenings and weekends, start with the after hours answering service options.

Whatever you choose, put a number on the problem first. The guide to the cost of missed calls gives a simple formula. Then run 20 real calls through your top 2 vendors during their trials, read every summary, and test one transfer at a busy hour.

How VocalReception handles this

VocalReception is our own product, so read this as the vendor’s description. It answers in 7 languages and transfers calls according to your rules. The plan costs €79 per month excluding VAT and includes 400 minutes. Additional usage costs €0.25 per started minute, subject to a monthly spending cap you set. SMS costs €0.10 each, with none included. Done-for-you setup costs €199 once, credited on invoice 7 after 6 paid months. The first month is paid, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on its €79 plan fee; setup is excluded. There is no commitment. The team sets up and tests your line to go live in 7 days. Self-serve setup is coming soon, with a waitlist. Each month, an agent reviews transcripts and sends recurring unanswered questions for you to answer and update the FAQ. No audio is kept. Text transcripts are kept in the EU for about one month to produce the monthly unanswered-questions report, then deleted. The full plan is on the VocalReception pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

Which AI receptionist is the cheapest for a small business?

On 5 November 2026, the lowest paid entry plan was Upfirst at $24.95 for 30 calls, and Smith.ai offered a free plan with 25 calls. At 150 two-minute calls a month, the cheapest published option was IONOS Flex Pro at $88.50 ($69 plus 50 extra calls at $0.39).

Is per-minute or per-call pricing better?

Per-minute pricing is cheaper when calls are short. Per-call pricing is cheaper when calls are long. Per-customer pricing (Goodcall) is cheapest when the same people call you several times. Measure your average call length before you compare plans.

Which AI receptionists offer a free trial?

On their pricing pages in 2026: Rosie (7 days), Upfirst (14 days or 100 calls, no card), My AI Front Desk (7 days, no card) and Dialzara (7 days). Smith.ai has a free plan with 25 calls. RingCentral, IONOS and Goodcall did not state a free trial.

Is this comparison biased?

Yes, it can be. VocalReception publishes it and sells an AI receptionist. To limit the bias, every competitor price was checked on the vendor's own pricing page on 5 November 2026, and we did not add ratings, reviews or features we could not verify.

Does an AI receptionist have to say it is an AI?

In the EU, yes. Article 50 of the EU AI Act, which applies from 2 August 2026, requires that callers are informed they are interacting with an AI system at the latest at the first interaction. One sentence in the greeting covers it.

Sources

  1. RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing (ringcentral.com)
  2. Upfirst pricing (upfirst.ai)
  3. IONOS AI Receptionist pricing (ionos.com)
  4. Goodcall pricing (goodcall.com)
  5. Dialzara pricing (dialzara.com)
  6. EU AI Act, Article 50 (transparency obligations) (artificialintelligenceact.eu)

Every call answered. In your caller’s language.

€79/month with 400 minutes included. Set up and tested for you. No commitment, 30-day money-back on the first month’s plan fee, excluding setup.

Get started